For more than three years, the City of Maryville and citizens of the community have been working to bring Maryville residents a beautiful new park located at 1807 South Court Street.
Local residents Dr. Craig Jarvis, Jim Cornett and Dan Crawford – along with the Foothills Land Conservancy worked with City leaders to create this unique partnership. The project was fulfilled with a public-private funding split.
This effort has preserved 47 acres inside the city limits and central to a large residential area. The park is nestled in a woodland area with trees more than 200 years old. Fifteen acres of this land has been carefully designed with meandering trails, interactive features and a wooden footbridge. Total trail length is ¾ mile with much of the trail following alongside Duncan Branch Creek. Visitors can expect a peaceful immersion in nature when visiting the park.
The Duncan family’s history with this land dates back to the Revolutionary War. John Duncan received the land as compensation for service in the war. At that time, it was Carolina territory. When the land was transitioned to the state of Tennessee, the deed was signed by Governor John Sevier in 1808.
The park is now open for the public to enjoy. Amenities include picnic tables and benches, a dog waste station, and ample parking.
For more information, contact Engineering and Public Works at 273-3500.